Dairy-Free Egg-Free Eggnog

Dairy-Free Egg-Free Eggnog

Vegan eggnog

Every year around the holiday season eggnog makes its return to the dairy aisle.

While the traditional version is made with milk and eggs, these days, vegan eggnog is gaining presence in grocery stores.

Eggnog is a sweet, dairy-based drink that’s served at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and other holidays in many western countries such as the U.S. and U.K.

The traditional drink is a thick, frothy concoction of milk, cream, sugar, whipped egg whites, and egg yolks. It’s also typically spiced with nutmeg and cinnamon. There are also similar drinks outside of the U.S and the U.K. In Mexico, there’s rompope, which is made from milk, sugar, vanilla, and eggs. Puerto Rico has coquito, a festive coconut-based drink. Rum, brandy, whiskey, or bourbon are typically added to eggnog.